Yuki seeded third, Ramkumar fourth make a first at KPIT-MSLTA ATP Challenger

Pune, November 12: London Olympian Blaz Kavecic of Slovenia, ranked 99 on the ATP Tour, is the men’s singles top seed in the $50000 + Hospitality KPIT MSLTA ATP Challenger to be played at the Mhalunge-Balewadi Tennis Complex courts.

Spaniard Adrian Menendez-Maceiras, ranked 130, is seeded second, while 2015 edition champion Yuki Bhambri (140) is the No. 3 seed and Ramkumar Ramanathan (148) the fourth seed.

The 32-player main draw begins on Monday.

The presence of the two Indian Davis Cuppers Yuki and Ramkumar among the Top-4 seeds of the main draw is a first of sorts for the tournament since the inaugural in 2014.

Serbian Nikola Milojevic, ranked 156, is seeded No. 5; American Evan King (197) follows in the sixth rank and Serbian Pedja Krstin (216) is No. 7.

Wild Cards have Aryan Goveas, Saketh Myneni, Arjun Kadhe and Vishnu Vardhan have been awarded wild cards for the main draw according to Tournament Director Sunder Iyer.

MSLTA has awarded the two State wildcard entries to 19-year-old Aryan Goveas and Arjun Khade, who after playing college tennis in the US for four years has been competing in the ITF Futures this year. Aryan was given the wildcard in the inaugural Pune Challenger in 2015. 

The other Indians to figure in the main draw include, last year’s finalist and India No. 3 Prajnesh Gunneswaran (255) along with Sumit Nagal, N Sriram Balaji.

According to the draws made Saturday, top seed Blaz Kavecic is expected to clash with Ramkumar Ramanathan of India in the quarter-finals, while second seed Adrian Menendez-Maceiras will take on Yuki Bhambri in the last-eight stage.

Meanwhile, sixth seed Elias Ymer  (Sweden) withdrew from the tournament and his place is taken by No. 218 Aleksandr Nedovyesov (Kazakhstan) who was the next best eligible seeded player.  As a result a qualifier/ lucky loser will take Nedovyesov spot.

The men’s singles winner will receive $7,200 and 80 ATP points and the runner-up, $4,053 and 48 ATP points.


1-Blaz Kavcic (Slovenia;99)

2-Adrian Menendez-Maceiras (Spain; 130);

3-Yuki Bhambri (India; 140)

4-Ramkumar Ramanathan (India; 148)

5-Nikola Milojevic (Serbia; 156)

7-Evan King (USA; 197)

8-Pedja Krstin (Serbia; 216)

Share Now

Related Post