Kuhn scalps seventh seed Martin to make round two of KPIT -MSLTA ATP Challenger

Pune, November 19:  Spanish player Nicola Kuhn created the first upset ousting seventh seeded Andrej Martin of Slovakia to enter the second round of the main draw at  the KPIT MSLTA ATP Challenger organized by MSLTA and PMDTA  and played at the Mhalunge-Balewadi Tennis Complex here  today.

In the opening main draw match 18 year old Spanish ranked 281 in ATP ranking who entered the event as an alternate   took just over an hour to upset 191 ranked and seventh seeded Slovakian Martin  6-2,6-3 to make it to the second round of the main draw.

Indian wildcard players in action Aryan Goveas and Manish Sureshkumar showed brilliance in flashes which was not enough for them as they were shown the door out , Canadian Brayden Schnur ranked 189  blew out local wildcard Aryan Goveas  6-3, 6-4 in a match that saw 18 aces in total  by both players.
Third seeded Swedish Elias Ymer who is ranked 132 currently took exactly One hour to  outhit second wildcard Manish Sureshkumar 6-4, 6-1 in the opening round.

Local star Arjun Kadhe partnering Saketh. Myneni  became the first pair to reach the doubles quarterfinals as they accounted for national champions and wildcard pair of   Parikshit Somani and   Dakshineshwar Suresh  6-1, 6-1

In the final round qualifying played today Francesco Vilardo of Italy , Ben Patael of Israel , and Germans Lucas  Gerch and Sebastian Fanselow  won their matches to make it to the main draw.

Following are the results: Final Qualifying Round:

Francesco Vilardo(ITA) bt Danylo Kalenichenko(UKR)6-3, 5-7, 7-5;

Ben Patael (ISR) bt [8] Viktor Durasovic(NOR) 4-6, 6-3, 6-4;

Lucas Gerch (GER) bt [5] Benjamin Hassan(GER)6-4, 6-0; 

[6] Sebastian Fanselow (GER) bt Mick Lescure (FRA)6-4, 5-7, 6-2;


Main Draw(First Round):

Brayden Schnur(CAN) bt [WC] Aryan Goveas(IND) 6-3, 6-4;
[3] Elias Ymer(SWE) bt [WC] Manish Sureshkumar (IND)6-4, 6-1;

Daniel Masur (GER) bt Jelle Sels(NED)6-4, 6-4; 
 [Alt] Nicola Kuhn(ESP) bt [7] Andrej Martin(SVK)6-2, 6-3;


Doubles: First round

Arjun Kadhe (IND) / Saketh. Myneni (IND) bt  [WC] Parikshit Somani (IND) / Dakshineshwar Suresh (IND) 6-1,6-1.

Share Now

Related Post

Leave us a reply